For a woman with internalized homophobia

Much better response than Mary’s. For lesbians, dating teenage boys/men was never fun since there was never a spark. Highlights the problem when heterosexuality is the default and only valid sexuality.

Purple Sage

The Independent published a “Dear Mary” column in which a woman in love with her female friend asked for advice. Mary gave her very poor advice, which is why I am stepping in.

The reader asked the following:

“I think that I am in love with my best friend who is also a girl. I do not know if the term is really in love at all, because up until now I’ve never ever had a romantic relationship. My status is NBSB – no boyfriend since birth. I just really believe that true love waits, so am not in a rush. I’m a 24-year-old professional whose career is going strong, I have a wonderful family, I serve the Lord every Sunday and I only have very selected friends.

My friend and I went to the same university and took the same degree course. During our college years, I developed…

View original post 1,787 more words

Leave a Reply

